Assault Defense Lawyer in Milwaukee, WI
Charged with Assault or Battery in Milwaukee County?
An assault or battery charge can be a very serious matter. In Wisconsin,
assault is a type of disorderly conduct. It is a misdemeanor punishable
by up to $10,000 in fines and/or up to nine months in jail. If the assault
involved the use of a dangerous weapon, the penalties will be more severe.
If you are convicted of assault, you will also have to deal with the negative
effects that a conviction will have on your life. You may not be able
to get a job or a loan if you have an assault conviction on your record.
You will also have a criminal record that will follow you for the rest
of your life. You need the help of a Milwaukee assault attorney at
Ahmad & Associates if you are facing an assault charge.
Request your free case review by calling (414) 928-7771 or filling out our
online contact form.
What is Assault?
In Wisconsin, assault laws are typically addressed under the broader category
of battery. Under Wisconsin law, battery refers to intentionally causing
bodily harm to another person without their consent. There are different
degrees of battery, and the severity of the offense determines the potential
Simple battery refers to intentionally causing bodily harm to another person.
On the other hand, aggravated battery involves causing substantial bodily
harm or intending to cause great bodily harm to another person.
Penalties for Battery in Wisconsin
Simple battery is a Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin, punishable by up
to 9 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Aggravated battery can be charged as a Class E felony, punishable by imprisonment
for up to 15 years and/or a fine of up to $50,000. However, if aggravated
battery is committed by a prisoner or a sexually violent individual or
is committed against a police officer or public official, then the offense
is a Class H felony, which carries a maximum prison term of six years
and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Battery by someone under a restraining
order is a Class I felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to three
and a half years and/or a maximum fine of $10,000.
How a Milwaukee Assault Attorney Can Help
An assault attorney can help you to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
An attorney may be able to show that you did not mean to cause harm to
another person. It may be possible to show that you did not know that
your actions would cause harm. Your attorney may also be able to show
that you had a good reason to commit the assault. For example, if someone
was attacking you, you may have a good reason to defend yourself. Your
attorney may be able to show that the police did not follow proper procedures
when they arrested you. If your rights were violated, you may be able
to get your charges dismissed.
Request your free consultation by calling
(414) 928-7771 or filling out our
online contact form.